Pajamas

Took the time today to trace out V 8859, OOP Marcy Tilton skinny pants.  I got these prior to discovering Stylearc patterns.  I whipped together a muslin from some gifted random knit. I chose a size 14 based on my measurements. Boy. No.  As usual the waist was very huge, not a bad fit in the thighs but as I have had great success with Stylearc, these are just meh.  Like I don’t even know if I want to wear them as pajamas.  I may try to salvage them into leggings for this SWAP, but that may not even be worth the effort.

The fabric was part of the problem.  I got it from a fabric exchange last year, it is pretty shiny so I am guessing a fair amount of poly, and my least favorite color for me: gunmetal gray. blah. I also omitted the yoke, and the knee pleats as I was short on fabric and just wanted to get a sense of the style lines.  I’ll keep it around for a while, but will probably gift it away at some point.

I will hold off on pants for now, instead I want to get going on Burda 6850, which I just picked up today.  I should muslin this too, before cutting into my fashion fabric, as it is very unstructured and I run the risk of being swallowed by my garment otherwise. I plan on a sweater, perhaps an overshirt of linen or similar, and a tunic with this crazy (for me) chevron knit. First the muslin.

Leave a Reply

