Well, if life itself hasn’t been enough, I am adding more to my pile.

I resurrected my blog for a number of reasons.  At the top of the list: a reason to write more often.  And as sparse and infrequent my updates are, the blog has served this purpose.  I do write every day at work, but that is terse medical-ese.  Not the kind of writing I was longing to do.

Next month I am racheting it up.  The kids and I have signed up for NaNoWriMo!  I am very excited about this.  I have a plan to keep me motivated and (not-too) challenged.  I have at least 2 friends/acquaintances who are doing it too, and Sparkle’s teacher is offering to facilitate NaNoWriMo for the entire Navigator program!  Now, I have no expectations that I will write 50,000 words in a month.  I do plan to write every day, and have a daily prompt all set up for myself.  Comet and Sparkle already have books in progress, although each has a fresh idea as well.  Sparkle made some awesome drawings of monsters that she created from other things: the letter S, a question mark, etc.  I was hoping she’d morph that into a series, but she wasn’t so keen on that.

My other project is de-cluttering.  Now, if you know me well enough you know that certain areas of my home are clean enough.  Others are so full of clutter that I’d almost qualify for one of those reality shows.  This will be a constant battle, especially with children around, so I plan to start small.  Not too small, but just small enough.  Every week I will declutter and dispose of 10 objects.  I’ll gather them on Wednesday, my day off, and dispose of them Thursday.  First up is the pile of junk clogging the upstairs study area.  I had crazy aspirations to sell it all in a garage sale, but as it’s all been sitting up there for the better part of 2 years a garage sale isn’t happening any time soon.  It’ll kill me to toss books, but there are tons in this house, and some I’ll never use again.  There will be plenty of wailing and gnashing of teeth I am sure, but I’m determined to be firm with myself!  And now that this is in print and posted for all the world to see I can hardly back down, right?

So stay tuned next week: the first Throw-away Thursday!

Leave a Reply

