Crabby

OK, I am going to complain, so if you don’t want to read you’ll just have to stop now and wait 8 weeks for my next, hopefully more cheerful, installment.

My house is a mess.  Homeschooling takes too much time.  I work too much for too little money.  The kids never stay in bed (I think someone is still up and it is 9:30 PM).  The garden is pathetic.  This summer has been so cold that I have only worn shorts a handful of times.  I can see winter coming already.  I think I am beginning menopause.  Someone let their dog poop on our driveway.  I am sick of only having one car and either being stuck at home or taking the kids on the bus.   M is always distracted and A has become a teenager about 7 years too soon.

Gosh, I thought I might come up with more than just that.  It doesn’t seem so bad now that it is down in writing.

Seriously, I am crabby.  Homeschooling does take a lot of time, and I don’t have much of it when you consider I work half time and do most of the domestic chores.  I also seem to have inherited a problem with restless legs and insomnia, which does nothing to improve one’s energy level and general joie de vivre.  On top of that, I have been dealing with some sort of chronic joint/muscle pain that is as yet undiagnosed, although 4 or 5 unpleasant ailments are all in the running.  These 2 health issues are probably the real source of this crabbiness.

I really don’t want any sort of diagnosis for a few reasons.  First, I have a very expensive health plan with a very high deductible which has not yet been met.  Second, I am not interested in having some diagnosis that will then make this health plan even more expensive.  Third, I am not interested in the types of interventions (read: medication) that the medical community will likely recommend.  Then I’ll refuse them, and get labelled a “problem.”  So, to add to all my frustration, I am trying not to eat any wheat, dairy, or eggs, (on the advice of my physician) since I happen to be allergic to them.  Theoretically, if I can stay off those foods for a few weeks, I should notice an improvement in the joint pain.  Problem is I fall off the wagon after about a week, and I have to start all over again.  Starting today, my goal is to remain allergen-free for 6 weeks.  Wish me luck, I’m going to need it.  (I should state here that I have had some tests for Lyme disease and RA, both were negative, but I think with RA there are many false negs, so that may still be a contender, ugh.)

So, we are all fine, really.  Homeschooling is going as well as it can, considering that both P and I are working as well, and we have no plans to change our educational choice.  The kids seem to be enjoying it at least.  It’s just a bit frustrating to have so many things to accomplish, and so little time, but I suppose much of that is just life with kids.  And this stupid joint pain is really just that, stupid, and not incapacitating or limiting in too many ways.  I really just want it gone. 

Anyone have a magic wand?

Leave a Reply

